Fall decorating

It is back to school this morning, in our neck of the woods, school started today for many of the area schools and that only means fall is not too far behind. I love the fall weather to come but I don’t want to think about summer being over, all the fun summertime activities, camping, swimming, bbq’s all over for another year, how sad. Actually we have a couple of months left of nice weather so hopefully there are a few activities we can squeeze in. But in the meantime I was thinking, in the back of my mind, about Fall decorating so I was looking around on the internet and one of my favorite places to look is on the Wood Connection web site for wood pieces to paint, and decorate for each season. They have all kinds of fun things to do. I came across this cute fall piece, a great piece to put on an entry table or shelf. fall letter set

They have pretty good tutorials on how to do their projects as well. I also like these fall leaves, although I didn’t find a tutorial, the leaves are just Mod Podge with scrapbook paper and the top leaf has glitter paper so it has a nice touch of bling. I love the idea also for a table or entry way.

fall leaves

Here is the piece I am working on, BLESS, this wood piece will be nice for Thanksgiving but I plan on leaving it up all year. Again it is just Modge Podge and I have added embellishments.

bless-1-a

I bought the wood at the Wood Connection and here is the final project after I stained the wood and added all the embellishments plus the vinyl letters, which I purchased at Idaho Embroidery and Vinyl they will cut any vinyl you want.

Bless-1

The first thing is to prepare your wood pieces

The first thing is to prepare your wood pieces

Decide if you want to paint your wood or leave it raw, I decided to use a spray stain, it gives it a little more of an aged look. You only need to paint the sides and back since the top will have paper on it. Then pick out the paper you want for each letter.

Trace your letters on the back side of your paper

Trace your letters on the back side of your paper

Be sure to reverse your letter when tracing it. Also don’t worry about being accurate, you want extra to overlap when you sand down the edges.

you can see I cut out a very "sloppy" cut, just a quick cut is great

you can see I cut out a very “sloppy” cut, just a quick cut is great

The next thing to do is line up your paper on the front of your letter making sure you have all edges covered and if you have a pattern, it is straight, ( i just used the stripped paper so you could see the cut out better)

Now you can start to Mod Podge

Now you can start to Mod Podge

Use a good coat, not sloppy, but well covered, especially on the edges so the paper will stick well. Only do one letter at a time so the glue doesn’t dry so fast the paper won’t stick.

Position your paper and run your finger around the edges

Position your paper and run your finger around the edges

This will help set the glue and also makes the edges easier to sand.

Sanding

Sanding

Take a piece of light sand paper and start to run it on the edges until the paper is sanded off and leaves a clean edge. Do this around the entire piece.

without shading

without shading

This is a pic of the pieces after all the letters have been Mod Podges and sanded off. I wanted a litte more distressed or aged look so I sprayed just a bit of the wood stain on the edges.

After staining the letters

After staining the letters

Here you can see just a bit of shaded letters, I think it adds depth but you can leave this step out if you prefer it with more of a clean look. Now comes the real fun part, adding the embellishments. I was able to use some of my stash so that is always nice, to use up what has been sitting in my drawers.

Here is the finished product again.

Here is the finished product again.

I added a 2X4 piece of painted wood with the vinyl letters “Bless this home and all who enter” I really like that saying. This would be a perfect Thanksgiving piece but I am going to use it all year round.

Let me know what you think

Chandler Creations Craft storage has storage for all your craft supplies

Leave a Reply

