Old window into entryway coat rack

Old window repurpose

One of my favorite projects this past summer was my old window that I turned into an entry way coat rack and shelf. I found the old window and an old door and have always wanted to re-purpose an old window so I gave it a shot. Since the window is old, and I didn’t want to ruin the look, there really wasn’t a lot of prep work needed. Some of the grout around the glass panes were a little crumbly but I just brushed it good and got the real flaky parts cleaned up. Then I just wiped down the wood really  good and stained it. Next I attached a piece of barn wood to the top for my shelf. I found the metal corner pieces at a junk stores of sorts, you know, one of those stores you love to go browse through because they have anything you can think of? Love Hidden Treasures in Shelley Idaho. I also got the coat hanger pieces there.

I couldn’t decide if I wanted to put photos in my old windows but I decided not too and just used chalk paint to fill in one space that everyone uses to write notes on. I am really happy with the way it turned out. Our front door entry is a little dark so it was hard to get a good picture.

IMG_20150107_210905877   IMG_20150107_210859171

window2

IMG_20150107_210849959

Leave a Reply

